Beith Parish Church was formed from the Union of Beith High Church and Beith Trinity Church. Services are held in the former High Church building in Kirk Road
| Beith Parish Church | |
|---|---|
Beith Parish Church | |
| High:55°44′58″N 4°37′53.5″W / 55.74944°N 4.631528°W Trinity:55°45′15″N 4°37′44.5″W / 55.75417°N 4.629028°W | |
| Denomination | Church of Scotland |
| Website | Beith Parish Churches |
| Administration | |
| Parish | Beith |
The Beith High Church was built in 1807 and extended in 1885. Gothic T-plan kirk dominated by the tall five-stage tower. Stained glass by Gordon Webster. Harrison & Harrison pipe organ 1885. The High Church is a category B listed building.
The Beith Trinity Church was built in 1883, designed by architect Robert Baldie. The chief external feature is a graceful octagonal tower. Interior destroyed by fire 1917, rebuilt 1926. Gothic style, with rectangular nave, Gothic arched chancel and one transept on the east side. Stained glass by John C Hall & Co. Organ 1937 by Hill, Norman & Beard. Trinity Church is a category C listed building.
The archives of Beith Church are maintained by the Archives of the University of Glasgow (GUAS).
In November 2023, a noise complaint against the modern electric church bell resulted in the bells being silenced during nighttime hours. [1]
References
edit- ↑ "Single noise complaint against Beith Parish Church bell silences 200-year tradition". Sky News. Retrieved 17 November 2023.